Posted by Greg Sparkman on Nov 13, 2018
It was a glorious festivity last Wednesday night as we feted and cheered those men and women chosen to be 2018's Educators of the Year. The more than 250 attendees that included teachers, administrators, city dignitaries and supporting Rotarians, were all energized and boisterous. The ballroom at Palos Verdes Golf Club, where we convene for our noon meetings, was transformed by evening into a more elegant, magical ambiance. While our club meetings fill about a third of the room, last Wednesday night the ballroom was bursting at the seams. As always, many thanks go to our Sustaining Sponsor, the D.K. Kim Foundation, for making the evening possible.

The evening began with guests relaxing with drinks and hors d'oeuvres at the Reception sponsored by Dr. Henry Lee. Once again, our very own Joan E Behrens and Dr. James Hartman, skillfully served as our Masters of Ceremonies, introducing the gathered to the fine EOTY honorees selected by "those in the know" at each of their respective schools. Our Honorees Sponsor was Jackie & Roger Ignon, as they have been for several years.  The dinner was delightful, the service impeccable. The Club did a very nice job in making this a special night for all, including our very special guests.
In turn, each of this year's nine EOTY honorees was brought to the podium to say a few words about their teaching experience, and each expressed their gratitude to the Palos Verdes Peninsula Rotary Club for the recognition we bring, and the honor shown to the importance of education here on the Peninsula.
The 2018 Honorees are as follow:
Allison Lehault—Palos Verdes Intermediate School
Kimberly Tatman—Chadwick School
Michelle “Mimi” Cohen—Point Vicente Elementary School
Jonathan D’Agostino—Rolling Hills Preparatory School
Christopher Doughty—The Salvation Army College for Officer Training
Janice DeMarti—Peninsula Heritage School
Carrie Ellis—Soleado Elementary School
Dr. Larry Dunlop—Marymount California University
Vararat Chaiyont-Kan—Palos Verdes Peninsula High School
The Honorees were all very sincere and entertaining while still being succinct, and the evening flew by and ended right on schedule at close to nine o'clock. All in all it was both an exciting and moving evening. A triumph for all in attendance, and for our club, whose leadership 38 years ago wisely decided that the schools and educators on our hill were too important to this community not to be held high with singular recognition—with an evening dedicated to our Educators of the Year.
Important thanks to those donors not already mentioned that helped make this evening possible.

Golden Apple+ Sponsor—The Moon Family Trust

Green Apple Sponsors 
AJ & Patti Johnson 
Coldwell Banker Real Estate 

Golden Apple Sponsors 
Brigante, Cameron, Watters & Strong, LLP 
Matson Foundation 
Harry Kitter—Special Thanks to Harry and his committee for obtaining our donors and sponsors.

Vocational Scholar Sponsors
Bruce & Lynn Attig
Suzy Zimmerman – State Farm Insurance

Red Apple Sponsors
Christine Chui
Nancy Crawford
Allen Bond, Wells Fargo Morgage
David & Carole Rowe
Peter McCormack & Mary Todd
Jim Hartman
Joan Erzer Behrens
Providence Little Company of Mary Hospital
Greg & Carolyn O’Brien
Les Fishman and Virginia Butler
Christine Barnicki
Norton Donner
Farmers & Merchants Bank
Suzy Gulcher
Palos Verdes Engineering
Dr. Nikki Nikakhtar
Marc Mazarow
Linda Elliott
Long Family Foundation
Dr. Kyu Sik Jung
Jack Goldberg, Westco Electrical Contractors

Event Donors
Joey Komada Acupuncture
Tormed Pharmacy
Shawn Nejad, RPV Flowers
Lynne Neuman
Terranea Resort
Iranian American Association
PJ Management
Hassan & Sima Bogsara
Jonathan Udewitz
Judy Maruszko
Medawar Fine Jewelers
The Cut Salon
Greg Sparkman, Creative Partners Group